2014 Harvey Awards Nominees Announced

harvey_nominee_logoCongratulations again this year to Mike Curtis and Joe Staton, who have been nominated for the 2014 Harvey Award for Best Syndicated Strip or Panel.  Team Tracy won the 2013 award, a first for the Dick Tracy comic strip and the Depot wishes them luck as they try to make it two in a row.

The Harvey Awards are a leading comic award that is presented each year at the Baltimore Comic-Com and recognizes outstanding work in comics and sequential art in honor of the late Harvey Kurtzman (1924-1993).  Nominations are chosen by and voted on by other comic book professionals (i.e. those who write, draw, ink, letter, color, design, edit and otherwise create), meaning the honors are given out, not by fans, but by peers in industry.

The full list of nominees for “Best Syndicated Strip or Panel” are,

  1. Dick Tracy, Joe Staton and Mike Curtis, Tribune Media Services
  2. Fox Trot, Bill Amend, Universal Uclick
  3. Get Fuzzy, Darby Conley, Universal Uclick
  4. Mutts, Patrick McDonnell, King Features Syndicate
  5. The Phantom, Tony DePaul and Paul Ryan, King Features Syndicate

Balloting will continue until Monday, August 18th and while we are of course rooting for Mike and Joe there is some good competition with Get Fuzzy and the perennial favorite Mutts back on the ballot along with long loved Fox Trot and adventure strip, The Phantom.  Winners will be revealed on September, 6, 2013 at the Baltimore Comic-Con.

Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Harvey Awards Nominees Announced

  1. Pingback: When Chins Collide! - Dick Tracy Depot

  2. Pingback: Fearless Fosdick - Dick Tracy Depot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *