Congratulations Team Tracy on 2014 Harvey Award!

HarveyAwardsLogoThe Depot sends out heart-felt congratulations to Joe Staton and Mike Curtis for winning their second straight Harvey Award for “Best Syndicated Strip or Panel”.  The win was announced at the Baltimore Comic-Con where Mike, Joe and the rest of the team have been in attendance.

Here’s a full list of the 2014 Harvey Winners:

  • Best Letterer: Terry Moore for Rachel Rising, Abstract Studio
  • Best Colorist: Dave Steward, Hellboy: The Midnight Circus, Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Syndicated Strip: Joe Staton and Mike Curtis for Dick Tracy, Tribune Media Services
  • Best Online Comics Work: Battle Pug by Mike Norton,
  • Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Attack on Titan, Kodansha
  • Best Inker: Wade Von Grawbadger, All New X-Men, Marvel Comics
  • Best New Series: Sex Criminals, Image
  • Best New Talent: Chip Zdarsky, Sex Criminals, Image Comics
  • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Ryan North for Adventure Time from KaBoom
  • Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Adventure Time from KaBoom
  • Best Graphic Album Previously Published: Mouse Guard Vol #3: The Black Axe, Boom! Studios/Archaia
  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award: Won posthumously by Stan Goldberg and received by Dan Parent.
  • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Domestic Reprint Project: Best of Comix Book: When Marvel Comics Went Underground, Kitchen Sink Books/Dark Horse
  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics
  • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic  Presentation: The Fifth Beatle: The Brain Epstein Story, by Vivek J. Tiwary, Andrew C. Robinson and Kyle Baker, Dark Horse
  • Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Best of Comix Book: When Marvel Comics Went Underground, John Lind, Kitchen Sink Books/Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Graphic Album, Original: The Fifth Beatle: The Brian Epstein Story, Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA, Image Comics
  • Lifetime Achievement Award from the Hero Initiative: This award was given to a very deserving Herb Trimpe whom many might know for his defining work on The Hulk and Wolverine
  • Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, SAGA, Image Comics
  • Best Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics
  • Best Cartoonist: Paul Pope, Battling Boy, First Second
  • Best Single Issue or Story: “Pizza is My Business“, Hawkeye #11, Marvel Comics

In addition to the above award winners, the very first Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Awards was presented to “Peanuts” creator Charles M. “Sparky” Schulz.  Karen Johnson, director of the Schulz Museum and Research Center accepted the award on behalf of the late cartoonist and his family.

“Jeannie Schulz’ suggested a quote from Sparky,” said Johnson when accepting the award. “Sparky said I want to be remembered as EB White remembered James Thurber: “He wrote like a child who could skip a rope.

“Peanuts,” is without a doubt one of the greatest comic strips since the dawn of the art form and Schulz’s characters and we applaud the committees choice for their very first Hall of Fame winner.

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *