Congratulations Team Tracy on 2015 Harvey Award!

DickTracyHarvey2015The Depot is extremely excited and congratulates Joe Staton, Mike Curtis and their fantastic team for winning a third straight “Best Syndicated Strip or Panel” Harvey Award!  The win was announced at the Baltimore Comic-Con‘s award ceremony where Mike and Joe were on hand to receive the award.  Taking home the comic strip honors over the likes of Dilbert, Foxtrot, Get Fuzzy and Mutts is an amazing achievement.

Here’s a full list of the 2015 Harvey Winners:

  • Best Letterer: Jack Morelli for Afterlife with Archie, Archie Comic Publications
  • Best Colorist: Dave Steward, HELLBOY IN HELL, Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Syndicated Strip: Joe Staton and Mike Curtis for Dick Tracy, Tribune Media Services
  • Best Online Comics Work: The Private Eye by Brian K Vaughan, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente
  • Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Blacksad: Amarillo, Dark Horse
  • Best Inker: Danny Miki, Batman, DC Comics
  • Best New Series: Southern Bastards, Jason Aaron and Jason Latour, Image Comics
  • Best New Talent: Chad Lambert for “Kill Me” from Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics
  • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarksy for Sex Criminals, Image Comics
  • Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Lumberjanes, BOOM! Box
  • Best Graphic Album Previously Published: Mouse Guard: Baldwin the Brave and Other Tales, Boom! Studios/Archaia
  • Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, Andrew Carl, Josh O’Neill, Chris Stevens, Locus Moon Press
  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award: Prsented by Nelli Kurtzman, this award presented to Denis Kitchen.
  • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics
  • Best Domestic Reprint Project: Steranko Nick Fury Agent of SHIELD Artist’s Edition, IDW
  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics
  • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic  Presentation: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History, Andrew Farago, Insight Editions
  • Best Graphic Album, Original: Jim Henson’s The Musical Monsters of Turkey Hollow, Archaia/Boom! Studios
  • Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA, Brian K Vaughan, Fiona Staples, Image Comics
  • Lifetime Achievement Award from the Hero Initiative: This award was given Russ Heath who is most well known for his DC Comics War Stories and Playboy’s Little Annie Fanny.
  • Best Writer: Mark Waid, Daredevil, Marvel Comics
  • Best Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics
  • Best Cartoonist: Terry Moore, Rachel Rising, Abstract Studios
  • Best Single Issue or Story: “Breaking Out”, DARK HORSE PRESENTS #35, Dark Horse Comics

In addition to the above award winners, the second and third Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Awards were presented to Jules Feiffer and Will Eisner, early American cartoonists.  Will and Jules created The Spirit (1940-1952) which was noted for its experiments with content and form that proved to be a springboard for later comics.


Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *